The Top Five Reasons I’m an Atheist/Agnostic

Irony.

Irony.

 Initially, I was raised strictly as a conservative Christian. Still being in high school, I’m trying to escape the religious influence my parents want to inflict on me. I never questioned my beliefs until I became an Atheist/Agnostic. I realized just how unfitting Christianity was for me, and broke free from it. Were my parents happy? No, and they still aren’t. If you’re considering dropping religion all-together, please continue to read my top five reasons for becoming an Atheist/Agnostic.

1. I’ve never felt comfortable with religion-

Even when I was little, talking about God and things concerning religion bothered me. It never sat well with me, and sometimes made me feel confused and angry. Not that I ever showed a sense of discomfort regarding religion to my parents or church leaders. I barely ever questioned my beliefs. I briefly remember our pastor preaching about “disassociating from homosexuals because they have chosen the path of the Devil.” I remember feeling sick and angry. In addition to not feeling comfortable, God confused me. His ways confused me all-together, yet I just listed it off as his “divine plan” and went along with the charade.

2. If you actually read the Bible….

I have read a lot of the Bible, and it’s not a happy, sing-song, frolic in the meadow kind of book. In fact, some of the things it reads are morally compromising, disgusting, and violent.

Ezekiel 9:6 “Slay utterly old and young, both maids, and little children, and women . . . “

Isaiah 13:16 “Their children also shall be dashed to pieces before their eyes; their houses shall be spoiled, and their wives ravished.”

Deuteronomy 13:15 “Thou shalt surely smite the inhabitants of that city with the edge of the sword, destroying it utterly . . . “

Leviticus 20:9 “For every one that curseth his father or his mother shall be surely put to death . . . “

Exodus 32:27 “. . . Thus saith the LORD God of Israel, Put every man his sword by his side, and go in and out from gate to gate throughout the camp, and slay every man his brother, and every man his companion, and every man his neighbour.”

Deut 21:10-12 “When thou goest forth to war against thine enemies, and the LORD thy God hath delivered them into thine hands, and thou hast taken them captive, And seest among the captives a beautiful woman, and hast a desire unto her, that thou wouldest have her to thy wife; Then thou shalt bring her home to thine house, and she shall shave her head, and pare her nails; “

Exodus 31:15 ” . . . whosoever doeth any work in the sabbath day, he shall surely be put to death.”

Deut 21:21 “And all the men of his city shall stone him with stones, that he die.”

It’s hard to believe the Bible promotes peace and tolerance with such heinous verses in the scripture. Personally, I don’t agree with God sending soldiers into villages to murder children and the elderly. Just as much as I don’t condone raping and ripping off peoples’ fingernails. Y’know, that’s just me, but it seems kind of back-ass-wards. People who say they live by the Bible clearly have not read it. Why is this? Because parents and religion-enthusiasts only talk about the good that God has done, not the bad. The Bible depicts God to be an almighty dick, but of course churches wouldn’t talk about that. It’s a completely one-sided argument when it comes to religion.

3. The superiority/pack mentality that comes with religion.

“My God has a bigger dick than your God.”-George Carlin

This is a big issue for me. Just because you worship something that you don’t really even have proof of doesn’t make you above anyone else. Likewise as not being a believer doesn’t make you superior to anyone. The pack mentality that comes with religion is overwhelming. If you don’t believe in God, you’re out of luck. Recently, some of my Christian friends decided to start up a religious conversation, unknowing that I wasn’t a Christian. They asked me what my religion was, and I responded honestly with “I’m an Agnostic/Atheist.” Big mistake. They went off on me. “You’re wrong,” “you’re going to Hell,” “Satan worshiper,” “There’s proof of the Bible,” etc. It was embarrassing and annoying. The thing is, some Christians are born into religion. They aren’t capable of exploring other lifestyles or learning about other people, which is kind of disappointing, but all-in-all, that’s just how life works. People disagree with each other.

4. Self Independence

Just before breaking away from Christianity, I realized that I can’t rely on things I can’t see. Praying wasn’t going to get me anywhere. Neither was dedicating my life to something that might not exist. If you want something, go get it. Work for it. Set goals. Don’t depend on some mystical sky-daddy to bring you fortune. The only way you’ll get somewhere is by working for yourself, not someone else. In addition to that, why do Christians pray? God has a divine plan, doesn’t he?

“Well, suppose the thing you want isn’t in god’s divine plan. What do you want him to do? Change his plan? Just for you? Doesn’t it seem a little arrogant? It’s a divine plan. What’s the use of being god if every run-down schmuck with a two dollar prayer book can come along and fuck up your plan?”-George Carlin

5. Look at our world’s adversities.

There are so many things wrong with this planet. If there were a God, or he even cared, he would do something. Is this how it’s supposed to be? If it is, then God clearly showed favoritism. You thank God because you’re blessed? “Thank you, God for giving me food, but not the starving children in Africa.” God must somehow favor some people above others. If he loved everyone equally, starvation, war, rape, murder, etc. wouldn’t be a problem.

“Something is wrong here, folks. Something is fucked up. This is NOT good work. If this is the best God can do, I am NOT impressed. Results like these do not belong on the resume of a supreme being. This is the kind of shit you’d expect from an office temp with a bad attitude. And just between you and me, in any decently run universe, this guy would have been out on his all-powerful-ass a long time ago.”- Yet another quote from George Carlin

Probably one of the most over-used, renowned quotes supporting Atheism ever, but I’m still going to put it in. It drives my points home.

“Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then He is not omnipotent. Is He able, but not willing? Then He is malevolent. Is He both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is He neither able nor willing? Then why call Him God?”-Epicurus

 Cheers,

Essencia the Patient

Leave a comment